SPSCC Library: Open Education Guide: Open pedagogy

What is open pedagogy?

I want to know about... open pedagogy.

On this "Open pedagogy" page, learn:

What "open pedagogy" is
The spectrum of open practice
Examples of open, renewable student-driven assignments -- including examples from TCC students and faculty!
Browse e-book titles about open pedagogy

What is open pedagogy?

Open pedagogy is a practice which uses the 5R activity framework to design lessons and assessments that encourage students to improve or create course content. With open pedagogy projects, students are empowered to engage in information creation through non-disposable or renewable assignments. The student is both creator and contributor of assignments that are openly licensed, allowing the content to be shared, revised, and reused by future students in a course.

Simply put, open pedagogy involves creating assignments that involve students creating things that others can revise and reuse, that add value to the world beyond the course.

Text source: Adapted from "Austin Community College (ACC) Library Services Guide on Open Educational Resources" by Carrie Gits licensed under CC BY 4.0

Image source: "5 Rs of open pedagogy" by Rajiv Jhangiani, CC BY SA 4.0

What is Open Pedagogy?
In-depth blog post by David Wiley that explores open pedagogy
Using Open Educational Resources (OER) and Open Educational Practices (OEP) for Teaching and Learning
Training modules developed by National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (Ireland). Tip: Module 4 focuses on open pedagogy. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

E-book titles about OER and open pedagogy

Interactive open educational resources: A guide to finding, choosing, and using what's out there to transform college teaching by John D. Shank
Find it at: Online
Publication Date: 2014
This book demonstrates the best tools, resources, and techniques for discovering, selecting, and integrating interactive open educational resources (OERs) into the teaching and learning process.
Pedagogy of the open society: Knowledge and the governance of higher education
Find it at: Online
Publication Date: 2013
Social processes and policies that foster openness as an overriding value as evidenced in the growth of open source, open access and open education and their convergences that characterize global knowledge communities that transcend borders of the nation-state.

Examples of open pedagogy

Open Pedagogy to Support EDI (webinar)
Jennifer Snoek-Brown and Kathy Swart, 2021, for WACCy Wednesday Webinar series. Kathy Swart presents on "Critical and Renewable Assignments for Information Justice," and Jennifer Snoek-Brown presents on “Open Pedagogy Collaborations with Faculty & Students," featuring several TCC faculty open pedagogy assignments.
Examples of Open Pedagogy from TCC students
Public course on Canvas for TCC students to learn more about OER and the efforts campus-wide to reduce textbook expenses. Includes a module on open pedagogy and examples of open pedagogy from TCC students. Course content under a CC BY license.
Open Pedagogy Project Roadmap
Christina Riehman-Murphy and Bryan McGeary, Penn State, 2021. Workshop materials for developing open pedagogy projects, including sections for Scope, Support, Student Outcomes and Agency, and Sharing and Sustainability, with additional intro and glossary, and case studies. Online and Google Drive of documents and activity sheets. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Open Pedagogy in the Trades
Bruce Neid, Nicki Rehn; Coast Mountain College (Canada), 2021. "Open Pedagogy in the Trades: Instructor Resource contains a bank of activities and projects to integrate with your course curriculum and use with your students immediately. All the activities are adaptable to any trade or ITA line item, and most will work for in-person and remote learning modalities. Adopting open pedagogy will lead to more engaged and invested students and richer learning outcomes." Includes 14 open pedagogy projects to adapt to your own subject area. Multiple formats, including online, PDF, and Canvas cartridge. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Open Pedagogy Approaches: Faculty, Library, and Student Collaborations
Edited by Alexis Clifton and Kimberly Davies Hoffman. "[I]t offers a diverse compilation of OER and open pedagogy (OP) projects grounded in faculty, library, and student collaborations [...] provides ideas, practical tips, and inspiration for educators willing to explore the power of open, whether that involves a small innovation or a large-scale initiative." CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Open Pedagogy Notebook
A resource for educators interested in learning more about Open Pedagogy. Includes open pedagogy assignments submitted by educators.
How do I teach in the open?
Examples of and issues about open pedagogy. From University of British Columbia.
Renewable assignments: Student work adding value to the world
Christina Hendricks, University of British Columbia. Outlines different types of renewable assignments, as well as examples.
Pedagogies of Care
Site with open resources for student-centered and adaptive strategies in higher ed. This site "offers practical and engaging advice about what "next" should look like across higher education, from sixteen current and forthcoming authors in the Teaching and Learning in Higher Education book series from West Virginia University Press." Includes videos, articles, guides, and more.
more...less...
Recommended by TCC English instructor Jeff Calkins
CORE 101 Open Pedagogy Project
Open pedagogy projects from Roger Williams University. Features student-designed and researched website projects about science issues, created by non-science majors. Example projects include Climate Change, DNA, Nutrition, Vaccines, and more. Projects are openly licensed with a CC-BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Writing LCC: An Anthology of Student Writing Collected at Lansing Community College Lansing, Michigan (OER collection)
Open pedagogy collection of student essays from English courses at Lansing Community College, 2020. "Student writing collected from English classes at Lansing Community College with brief notes from instructors. Intended audience--faculty and students. A brief annotated bibliography about publishing student writing and permission form in Appendices." Online, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
The Open Faculty Patchbook
Examples and explanations about Open Pedagogy assignments and approaches.

Spectrum of open practice

Click the image below to view the text in a larger window.

Image source: Spectrum of Open Practice, by Cindy Underhill, licensed CC BY-SA 3.0

Library Research Guides

Open Education Guide: Open pedagogy

What is open pedagogy?

I want to know about... open pedagogy.

What is open pedagogy?

E-book titles about OER and open pedagogy

Examples of open pedagogy

Spectrum of open practice

Attributions