Skip to Main Content

mySPSCC | Employees | Directory

SPSCC logo

SPSCC Library

News Gallery

Book Award Lists

Looking for something to read? Here are a bunch of book award lists that will introduce new books to you. Enjoy!

Tip 1: For fiction and pleasure reading books, search in the Timberland Regional Library catalog to find books to borrow for free.

Tip 2: Sign up for a Grab Bag from Timberland Regional Library. Just tell them what you love to read, listen to, or watch, and library staff will put together a Library Grab Bag of materials they think you’ll love. Great way to try new genres, authors, or just be surprised!


National Book Awards

The National Book Awards were established in 1950 to celebrate the best writing in America. Since 1989, they have been overseen by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization whose mission is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America.


The Booker Prizes

The Booker Prizes reward the finest in fiction, highlighting great books to readers and transforming authors’ careers. The symmetrical relationship between The Booker Prize for Fiction and The International Booker Prize ensures that they honor fiction and the best writing on a global basis. The prizes are supported by Crankstart, the charitable foundation of Sir Michael Moritz and his wife, Harriet Heyman.


Pulitzer Prize

The Pulitzer Prize has been awarded by Columbia University each spring since 1917. The awards are chosen in 21 categories by a board of jurors for Journalism, Letters, Music, and Drama. The awards for Letters include Nonfiction, Poetry, Biography or Autobiography, History, and Fiction.


Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, established in 2012, recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year and serve as a guide to help adults select quality reading material. They are the first single-book awards for adult books given by the American Library Association and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers.


National Book Critics Circle Award

Each year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.


Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize, inaugurated in 2006, is the first and only annual U.S. literary award recognizing the power of the written word to promote peace. It invites nominations in adult fiction and nonfiction books published within the past year that have led readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view.


Audie Awards

Each year the Audio Publishers Association honors the best titles in audio publishing. Publishers and rights holders enter titles in various categories for recognition of achievement. Finalists are selected, and then one winner is awarded in each category at a gala awards ceremony.


Thurber Prize for American Humor

Named after James Thurber, widely considered one of the foremost American Humorists of the 20th century, the Thurber Prize for American Humor is one of the highest recognitions of humor writing in the United States.


Independent Publisher Book Awards

The Independent Publisher Book Awards were established in 1996 to bring increased recognition to the deserving but often unsung titles published by independent authors and publishers.


Nobel Prize for Literature

Based on the recipient's entire body of published work, the Nobel Prize for Literature is awarded "to the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work of an idealistic tendency."


Whiting Award

Since 1985, the Whiting Awards have been given annually to 10 emerging writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama.