Skip to Main Content

mySPSCC | Employees | Directory

SPSCC logo

SPSCC Library

News Gallery

Mystery and Crime Book Awards


The Edgar Awards

Each spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, celebrating the best and brightest in crime fiction, non-fiction, and television. MWA is the premier organization for mystery and crime writers, professionals allied to the crime-writing field, aspiring crime writers, and folks who just love to read crime fiction.


Agatha Awards

Established in 1989, Malice Domestic is an annual fan convention that celebrates the Traditional Mystery, books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie. The genre is loosely defined as mysteries which contain no explicit sex, or excessive gore or violence. Malice attendees are invited to nominate their favorite works in the following six categories: Best Contemporary Novel; Best Historical Novel; Best First Novel; Best Nonfiction; Best Short Story; Best Children's/Young Adult Novel. The Agatha Awards are announced at the convention.


Eleanor Taylor Bland Crime Fiction Writers of Color Award

The Eleanor Taylor Bland grant is administered by Sisters in Crime, an international organization of mystery authors, readers, publishers, agents, booksellers, and librarians. Sisters in Crime was founded in 1986. Its mission is to promote the ongoing advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers.