Skip to Main Content

mySPSCC | Employees | Directory

SPSCC logo

SPSCC Library

News Gallery

Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Awards


Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards are the most prestigious award in the science fiction genre, honoring literature and media as well as fan activities. The awards were first presented in 1953, and have been presented every year since 1955.


Nebula Awards

The Nebula Awards® are voted on, and presented by, full members of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Since 1965, the Nebula Awards® have been given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year’s award. The Award for Best Script was added in 2000. An anthology including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up is also published every year.


World Fantasy Awards

Presented at the World Fantasy Convention, an annual gathering of professionals, collectors, and others interested in the field of light and dark fantasy art and literature, the award celebrates lifetime achievement as well as various aspects of art and literature in this genre.