Permanent URL: https://library.spscc.edu/guides/english
After getting some background on your topic, we'll be ready to dive into more specific, narrow information.
Find online and print books through Quick Search.
Good For: In-depth information on a narrow topic. Chapters on a narrow topic.
Examples: Academic Search Complete, Research Library
Good For: Finding news, popular magazine articles, and scholarly articles.
Quick Tip: Match your database to the subject area of your topic or your class. Consider what type of experts are writing about your topic.
Use these databases to get started. These are both multi-subject databases, which means that they include popular and scholarly sources from many different subject areas. For example, in these multi-subject databases, you can find articles from fields like psychology, education, computer science, and more.
Video by Yavapai College Library
Use these databases to dig even further into the scholarship on your topic.
Use these libraries, in person or online, to get even more access to our local news sources. Additionally, the public library has other collections that may be helpful, like the zine collection, and the State Library has some of the best historical information related to our region and our state.
The public library for our region. Borrow materials from any branch in the system. Many databases with excellent coverage of local newspapers and popular magazines. Many branches in the Olympia area have extensive collections of self-published zines.
Located in Tumwater, the Washington State Library is a great resource for local research.
Washington State Library