Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

mySPSCC | Employees | Directory

SPSCC logo

Library Research Guides

Fulton, Katy. Northwest Coast Indians: Library databases

Your assignment

 

Video on evaluating websites

Instructions:

1) Watch the video above and any database videos on the right (in red) that you think you need to watch for searching databases.

2) Find 2 sources on your topic using library databases.

3) In addition, find one website you plan to use. This can be found via a search engine like Google.

4) Post the URL of your website and the permalinks to your library sources on the discussion board. If you do not know what a permalink is or how to find it, you will need to watch the database videos. For your library sources, do not post the URL in the search bar (it will not work because they time out).

5) Also on the discussion board, evaluate the website based on the criteria in the "evaluating websites" video above. You do not need to evaluate the sources found in library databases, only the website.

Library databases

From off campus, access with your SPSCC email.

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes -- cultural/historical overviews on tribes -- video on how to search

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) -- magazines and scholarly journals -- video

Proquest -- magazines and scholarly journals -- video

Search everything at once! -- searches all library databases for books, articles, films -- video